Best IPL Captains for IPL betting

Best Captains in the IPL History – What makes a Champion Leader?

IPL 2023 has all the ingredients to make it a mega event. We already witnessed some last-ball thrillers, and by the looks of it, we are set for many more. Every team is under pressure, and the one that handles it, is set to win. In the crunch games like these, the role of a leader becomes doubly important.

Calm leaders and captains like Rohit Sharma and MS Dhoni have won many games and IPL trophies. During the match against KKR, GT missed the services of their regular captain Hardik Pandya, as they crumbled under pressure and conceded 29 runs off the last over. This is why an efficient and effective captain is crucial to a team’s success. 


Best Captains in the IPL History

Following is a list of captains who have done extremely well in the IPL:

MS Dhoni

MS Dhoni, also fondly known as Thala, has the best record when it comes to captaincy. He has led CSK to IPL championships 4 times. The Chennai team has also been runner-up 7 times. CSK, under the leadership of MS Dhoni, has been one of the most consistent teams in the IPL.

Dhoni has captained in 214 IPL matches, this includes for Chennai and Pune, out of which the team has won 125. Out of the remaining 89, 88 matches the team lost

and one match had no result.

MS Dhoni’s Captaincy Record in IPL


Rohit Sharma

In terms of the IPL trophies won, Rohit Sharma is the most successful IPL captain. He has won 5 IPL trophies with Mumbai Indians, and is all set to make it six this season. MI last won the IPL trophy in 2020, and after that they had 2 seasons where they failed to make it to the playoffs.

Rohit Sharma will look to make an impact with the bat and lead his team from the front. Out of the total 146 matches that Rohit has captained, the team has won 80 matches, lost 62, and 4 have been super overs.

Rohit Sharma’s Captaincy Record in IPL


Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli has been with RCB right from their first match. He has led the team well, despite not having any trophy to show. Kohli has led from the front and was very close to winning the IPL trophy in 2016, where RCB made it to the finals.

Kohli is in great form this season and looks in the mood to take on opposition bowlers. He is batting aggressively, especially in the powerplay. Kohli has captained in 140 IPL matches, out of which the team has won on 64 occasions, lost 69 times, 3 went to the super over, and 4 matches had no result.

Virat Kohli’s Captaincy Record in IPL


Gautam Gambhir

Gautam Gambhir is an excellent leader and has always led from the front. Under his captaincy, KKR won the IPL trophy twice. Gambhir’s batting in the powerplay was a treat to watch and also he played spinners well.

Gambhir has captained in 129 IPL matches, out of which the team has won on 71 occasions, lost 57 times, and 1 went to the super over. Currently, he is with the Lucknow team where his job is to mentor them.

Gautam Gambhir’s Captaincy Record in IPL


David Warner

David Warner is one of the most inspiring IPL captains of all time. He has won the orange cap three times during his stay with Sunrisers Hyderabad. Warner led SRH to an IPL trophy in 2016, where he scored more than 800 runs.

This year, David Warner is captaining Delhi Capitals in the absence of their regular captain Rishabh Pant. He has led the side 74 times, out of which the team has won on 35 occasions, lost 37 times, and 2 matches went to the super over.

David Warner’s Captaincy Record in IPL


Note: The data is as on 15/04/2023.

IPL Captain with Most Runs

Following is a list of captains with most runs in IPL:

  • Virat Kohli – 4881 runs
  • MS Dhoni – 4614 runs
  • Rohit Sharma – 3761 runs
  • Gautam Gambhir – 3518 runs
  • David Warner – 3068 runs

Most Successful overseas IPL Captains

Following is the list of most successful overseas IPL captains:

  • David Warner 
  • Shane Warne
  • Steve Smith
  • Daniel Vettori
  • Faf du Plessis

Also Read: 10 Best IPL Batsmen of All Time

Best IPL Batsmen

Who is the Best Captain in IPL 2023

MS Dhoni has to be one of the greatest captains of all time. If we are looking for this season specifically, then Sanju Samson is the best captain in IPL 2023 right now. Hardik Pandya is also right up there, taking the right decisions at the right time.

“A captain is as good as his team”

If you want to bet on a team, make sure that the leader or captain is a dynamic one. A captain should be able to make quick and sound decisions, otherwise the match will slip out of the hand in no time.

IPL prediction and more on Uwin

If you are thinking of IPL online betting or IPL betting tips, you will get them with the best odds on the Uwin platform. Uwin is the most trusted platform for IPL betting, other sports betting, casino games, and more. Uwin promotions and Uwin bonuses are best in the industry. For the IPL season, there are special promotions on Uwin. Bet on IPL to stand a chance to win big.


A powerful leader generally decides the fate of a team. This year in IPL, there are many powerful captains who will inspire and bring the best out of their teammates. Let us see which captain inspires his team the most.


  1. Who will captain the CSK team in the IPL 2023?

    MS Dhoni is set to captain the CSK team in the IPL 2023

  2. Where can I do IPL cricket betting?

    You can choose a trusted online IPL betting platform like Uwin for IPL cricket betting.

  3. Which captain will lift the IPL 2023 trophy?

    Sanju Samson and his boys look the most likely team to lift the IPL 2023 trophy.

Leave a comment