ICC T20 Cricket World Cup History

ICC T20 Cricket World Cup History | Champions from 2007 to 2024

Since its 2007 debut in South Africa, the ICC T20 Cricket World Cup has grown to become a major cricketing event. India defeated Pakistan in a nail-biting final to win the inaugural championship. Pakistan won in 2009. England won their first ICC trophy the following year in 2010. The West Indies were the first team to win twice. They won in 2012 and again in 2016. Sri Lanka finally experienced a T20 win in 2014, winning the title. Australia established itself as a T20 powerhouse by winning its first T20 World Cup in 2021. In this blog, we will have a deeper look at the ICC T20 Cricket World Cup History.


Expansion of the ICC T20 Cricket World Cup History

Since its launch in 2007, the T20 World Cup has changed majorly. With 12 teams in the beginning, the competition aimed to unite the top cricketing nations in style. The World Cup’s appeal and level of competition rose in popularity of Twenty20 cricket. The ICC  raised the competition’s cap to 16 teams in 2014. The T20-qualified teams were to accommodate more developing cricketing nations. It gave them a stage to display their abilities internationally. The sport’s global reach grew with this. It also attracted a larger audience and made the competition more inclusive.

In light of T20 cricket’s steady rise in popularity, the ICC declared that 20 teams will compete in future T20 World Cups. These teams are split into four groups to increase competitiveness. It aims to create more chances for exciting upsets and memorable games. The objective of this new format is to promote cricket in non-traditional cricketing nations. It contributes to the sport’s further globalisation. The ICC’s dedication to developing the sport is displayed by the decision to expand to 20 teams. Additionally, it guarantees that the T20 World Cup will always be among the cricket world’s most thrilling events. It is still adapting to the needs of its ever-growing and diversified fan base.

ICC T20 Cricket World Cup History | Winners List from 2007-2022

YearHost CountryWinner
2007South AfricaIndia 
2010West IndiesEngland
2012Sri LankaWest Indies
2014BangladeshSri Lanka
2016IndiaWest Indies
2024West Indies/ United States

ICC T20 Cricket World Cup History | Winners List – Country-wise

YearCountryNo. of Times Won
2012, 2016West Indies2
2010, 2022England2
2014Sri Lanka1

Also Read: Everything You Need to Know About the ICC T20 World Cup 2024


Memorable Moments in ICC T20 Cricket World Cup History

2007: India

MS Dhoni was the Indian captain in 2007. The team defeated Pakistan in a thrilling final to win the first-ever ICC T20 World Cup in 2007. The competition took place in South Africa. The match displayed how exciting T20 cricket is. A  razor-thin five-run margin decided India’s victory. It created a landmark moment in Indian cricket history. Moreover, it also greatly increased the T20 format’s appeal in India and globally. The tournament’s success and India’s victory created a solid basis for T20 cricket’s future. This resulted in the formation of the Indian Premier League. It generated a rise in interest in the game’s shortest format around the world.

2016: West Indies

After overcoming England in an exciting final in 2016, the West Indies created history by becoming the first team to win the T20 World Cup twice. The tournament’s final took place in India. It is well known for Carlos Brathwaite’s amazing display of smashing four straight sixes in the final over to win. This conclusion cemented Brathwaite’s legacy in cricket mythology. It highlighted the West Indies’ supremacy in the Twenty20 format. The team’s charisma was palpable throughout the competition. It cemented their 2016 victory as a seminal event in T20 cricket history.

2021: Australia

Australia won their first ICC T20 World Cup title in 2021 by defeating New Zealand in the final. The match was scheduled in the United Arab Emirates. The tournament saw Australia showcase their resilience in the shortest format of the game. The captain of the team was Aaron Finch. Moreover, the Australian team navigated through the Super 12 stage and the knockout rounds. It was with a blend of aggressive batting, disciplined bowling, and sharp fielding. The final was a showcase of Australia’s dominance, with Mitchell Marsh and David Warner playing pivotal roles. Marsh’s unbeaten 77 and Warner’s 53 helped Australia chase down New Zealand’s total with ease. This secured an eight-wicket victory. 

2022: England

England defeated Pakistan in the final to win their second T20 World Cup in 2022. With this win, England became the first men’s side to win the T20 and ODI World Cups concurrently. This was a noteworthy accomplishment. The victory showed England’s superiority in white-ball cricket. In addition, this showed their capacity to compete on the largest platforms. Their success throughout the tournament was largely due to their persistent and aggressive style. This further cemented their standing as a dominant force in the game’s shortest format.

Step Up to the Crease | Bet Big on Uwin Sports!

Are you prepared to take your cricketing adventures to the next level? You are at the right spot – Uwin Sports. Our platform is the best place to bet on exciting cricket matches. Grab this opportunity and get a chance to win big! Now is the best moment to play and bet on the ICC T20 World Cup. Get the Uwin cricket app download and bet away to glory! At Uwin Sports, we offer a wide range of betting options. This includes match outcomes, player performances, and even live in-play betting for the ultimate betting. Our platform is user-friendly and secure. It is designed to enhance your betting experience.


Since its debut in 2007, the ICC T20 World Cup History has seen huge changes. Today, it has become one of the most eagerly awaited occasions in the cricket calendar. As more teams join the tournament, more people worldwide are getting excited to watch. The matches are keeping everyone hooked! This cricket season don’t only enjoy the matches, but use the chance to earn money! Cricket fans eagerly anticipate each tournament edition to watch exhilarating matches and amazing performances. The T20 World Cup is expected to continue at the height of excitement. It presents the finest of cricket’s shortest format on a grand scale, with plans in place for future competitions to include even more teams.


How many T20 World Cup victories has India had?

Under MS Dhoni’s leadership, India has only won once in the ICC T20 World Cup in 2007.

Who has won the highest men’s T20 World Cups?

With two wins in the men’s division in 2012 and 2016, the West Indies now hold the record for most ICC T20 World Cup victories.

Who won the highest World Cups in cricket history?

Australia has the record for winning the most ICC Cricket World Cups in history. They won the tournament five times (in 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, and 2015).

When did India last win the World Cup?

On April 2, 2011, India won the 50-overs World Cup after 28 years. This was with MS Dhoni leading the Men in Blue to a historic title win.

How many teams participate in the ICC T20 Cricket World Cup?

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 features 20 teams and is hosted jointly by the USA and the West Indies from June 1 to 29, 2024. 

Leave a comment